The exhibit welcomes the public during regular APBA hours.
The one and only APBA Gold Cup is the oldest active trophy in motor sports. The trophy was first awarded in 1904 as the APBA Challenge Cup.
Above: J. Lee Schoenith was an Unlimited Hydroplane owner and driver. He and his father Joe won 27 races from 1952 to 1972. J. Lee won 1953 national High Points with Gale II, and 1954-55 with Gale V, along with the 1955 APBA Gold Cup. His Atlas Van Lines won high points in 1953-55 and 1972. He served as Unlimited commissioner and APBA chief referee. He was inducted into the Unlimited Hydroplane Hall of Fame in 1980 and the Michigan Motorsports Hall of Fame in 2000. He died in 1993.
The Spirit of Detroit, a replica of the Marshall Fredericks sculpture in front of Detroit's City-County Building.
Cameron B. Waterman of Grosse ile, Michigan, invented and marketed the first successful outboard motor.

Since being formed in the late 1970s by
the legendary Bill Muncey and current Chairman George "Buddy" Byers, the Society has collected many treasured
items tracing back to the early days of powerboat racing.


Iconic trophies like the APBA Gold Cup
and the Martini & Rossi trophy, along with helmets, driving suits, and a wonderful collection of photos and memorabilia are on display.


Starting as a small 1,200 sq.ft. plumbing service shop, the facility is now a beautiful 8,000 sq. ft. building situated on a well-landscaped lot, easily accessible from the Interstate highway system (I-94, I-696). The building is shared with the American Power Boat Association (APBA), the oldest and largest powerboat sanctioning organization in the Northern Hemisphere.


Come visit and enjoy a trip through the history of America's most exciting motorsport!


If you need information or might have items of interest to the Society, please email us at
or Fax: 586-773-6490.





























The APBA Historical Collection 
is on display in the home of the Society in Eastpointe, Michigan, a suburb of Detroit.
The Secretary of the Navy Cup
The Martini & Rossi trophy is perhaps the most ornate in the collection. The trophy was donated to the APBA by the late Count Theo Rossi di Montelera, head of the Italian vermouth industry. Count Rossi won the 1938 APBA Gold Cup on the Detroit River with ALAGI. The trophy was first presented in 1959 to W.T. "Bill" Waggoner, Jr. He won the Unlimited Hydroplane National High Point Championship with MAVERICK, piloted by Bill Stead. Over the years, the Martini & Rossi Trophy has been awarded to some of Unlimited racing's greatest participants, including Willard Rhodes, Ole Bardahl, Dave Heerensperger, Bill Muncey and his wife Fran, Fred Leland and, of course, Bernie Little. Little won his first Martini & Rossi Trophy in 1969 and went on to capture it an an unprecedented 21 times with MISS BUDWEISER. —from H1 Unlimited

For Information, or to donate memorabilia


© APBA Historical Society

Donate to the Historical Society HERE

Apply for a Historical Society grant HERE

APBA Historical Society

17640 E 9 Mile Road

Eastpointe MI 48021-2563