Stan Fitts with the Martini & Rossi trophy
at the APBA Historical Society Museum.


We honor the memory of Stan Fitts, who was a great friend of the American Power Boat Association and the APBA Historical Society. Stan died February 18, 2014 at age 74.

He served the American Power Boat Association for over 40 years in countless ways. Stan was a Region Chairman, President, Treasurer, Category Chairman and Council member. Active in just about every racing category from Outboard to Offshore, Stan was also a scorer and official at many races. He was often the only man at Scoring Committee meetings.

As Treasurer of the APBA Historical Society, Stan freely lent his expertise, thoughtful advice and support to every undertaking. He was essential to the founding of the APBA Historical Society Museum, helping to create an amazing display of racing artifacts dating back to the beginning of the sport.


Stan’s cheerfulness, energy and commitment inspired generations of boat racers and set a high standard of service.


In memory of Stan Fitts and the late Dave Packer, the APBA Historical Society has set up a Driving School Fund. Grants from the Fund will support local Outboard Driving Schools across the country.


We can’t think of a better way to remember and honor a wonderful friend of boat racing, and of the APBA Historical Society.   Thank you, Stan Fitts.


To read Stan’s memorial in Propeller magazine, click HERE:


Thank you, Stan Fitts
 The American Power Boat Association has been sanctioning power boat racing from the very beginning of the sport.
Those who love boat racing have worked tirelessly to preserve a glorious past and ensure a vibrant future. Here are some snapshots from APBA's past... APBA: A Long and Proud History

Bob Henry (R) receives congratulations from O.F. Christner (L)
of Illinois and Rockey Stone of Oregon, on his first national championship in AOH at the Outboard Nationals, DePue IL, 1967.  Sept. 1967 Propeller magazine

The A-10 Miss Shepherd: Can you name the driver?

February 18, 1951: In St. Petersburg, Florida, Jack Van Deman drives J.N. Van Deman's 91ci hydro RED WITCH at the Southland Regatta.

Bill Muncey's signature on an Unlimited hull.
Ray Dong photo

The 1935 APBA officials: Timer L. Gordon Leech, Surveyor T. M. Russell, Measurer S. Y. Tyson, President George W. sutton Jr., Treasurer Major General J. Leslie Kinkaid, Secretary Leonard H. Thompson, Executive Secretary and Assistant Treasurer William Edgar John.

Above, George "Buddy" Byers, co-founder of the APBA Historical Society, driving his record-breaking 7 Litre hydro.


At left, Offshore promoter Tom Crimmins, S. Sandy Satullo, and Gloria Crimmins.

Above, Rocky Aoki Benihana, Joel Halpern and team celebrate winning the  Benihana Grand Prix Challenge Cup.


Left, Unlimited champion driver Billy Schumacher, who raced for 24 years and later returned to the sport as an owner.


For Information, or to donate memorabilia


© APBA Historical Society

Donate to the Historical Society HERE

Apply for a Historical Society grant HERE

APBA Historical Society

17640 E 9 Mile Road

Eastpointe MI 48021-2563